HUMOR…THAT’S NOT FUNNY!!

Standard

I told my wife a joke about Mexicans… Why do Mexicans always eat refried beans?  Because they can’t cook them right the first time.

” That’s not funny,” she said.    Well maybe not, its kind of corny. But I’ve got to a point where I can tell a joke in Spanish and they laugh. Or maybe they’re laughing at my accent??

 Humor is in the eye of the beholder… They say things that I don’t consider funny also. But sometimes they can be very funny.

I like British dry humor also. My wife doesnt connect at all with that, she doesnt like Mr. Bean. I use to be in Show Biz & there were always a bunch of Show girls from all parts of the world, I recall talking to some English girls one day & mentioned British Humor & one of them asked, “What British comedians did I watch”. I told her “Benny Hill”.” Bullshit”, she said, “You just like to watch the girls run around in their knickers”.  Well.. maybe so, I kind of enjoyed that also.

Benny Hill & entourage

 Poor Benny, he got canned over a sexual harrassment suit.

Our boy Benny

 Sometimes in Mexico you see things that aren’t suppose to be funny but are… for instance theres a couple of Magazines that are like the Super market scandal sheets you see in the States, but a lot more grafic, called ALARMA & ORALE!!! Orale roughly means “How About That”. One day I see an article on the front page of ALARMA that said, “Man has sex with chicken”…claims it was the best he’d ever had in his life!! with a picture of a guy that looked like he just came off the Jerry Springer Show.

And sometimes in the course of normal conversation people say funny things. One day I heard two news photographers arguing, one said you are such a low life proletarian. The other said, ” You are so common, you’re more common than animal crackers at Christmas time.”

If you’ve lived long enough in Mexico and watch kids break pinatas at christmas time you will understand that.

Some of my favorite Mexican comedians are:  Hector Suarez…

HECTOR SUAREZ AS TOMAS EL NEGRITO

This may be more inflamatory than Memin Pinguin…

Hector as, "No Hay...No Hay"

 Another very innovative comedian is Andres Bustamante, better known as Guiri-Guiri ..

Guiri-Guiri

And two other funny stand up comics are JO JO JORGE FALCON and  POLO POLO.  More for adult audiences.

JO JO JORGE FALCON

POLO POLO

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

So here is one of my first joke attempts……. in Spanish….

quien fue los tres peores PRESIDENTES en el mundo ??

“NIXON….. PERON…… Y ESTE CABRON…!!!

……………………………………………………………………….

TRANSLATION: WHO WERE THE 3 WORSE PRESIDENTS IN THE WORLD…

 NIXON…PERON…. AND THIS S.O.B.  !!

(My wife said.. Thats not  funny either !!!!)

4 responses »

  1. I enjoy your posts. Have been to Honduras many times, but have yet to visit Mexico. Hope to come soon, as I am yearning to see the country due to excellent blogs like yours.

    I too like the dry style of British humor. Benny Hill was a master. Today’s king is Ricky Gervais. The original version of “The Office”, Gervais’ creation, is so funny that it makes the American version unbearable to watch.

    Thanks for writing, and keep it going.

  2. Hey! I liked that joke you said at the end of your article. And yeah.. mexican humor can be a little weird, I suppose. I love Hector Suarez! Greetings from Sin City!

  3. Mexican humor has double meaning thats why. Like when some one says seriously damn i fell of my chair and i hurt my ass and the other person says to them pass me the salt or what ever is around them and the person that fell just fell for the joke. Its called Albur look it up. Alfoso Zayas and Luis de alba are the kings at that

Leave a Reply

